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COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY 
DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

1003 Twilight Trail 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8400 

502-564-4850 phone 
502-564-1442 fax 
http://abc.ky.gov

INSTRUCTIONS FOR BASIC APPLICATION

a. You must be at least 21 years old to apply. 
b. You must be a Kentucky resident for the past year unless a Corporation, LLC, or Ltd. Partnership. 
c. You must be a U.S. citizen unless you apply as a Corporation, LLC, or Ltd. Partnership. 

TIME TO PROCESS APPLICATIONS 

The state ABC office needs at least 60 days to process an application. Local administrator processing time is in 
addition to that required by the state application. This timeline is based upon when a complete application is received 
by our office. Please consider the processing time a local ABC Administrator may take to review the application. If the 
application is withdrawn or is not issued, the fee will be refunded upon receipt of a written request for a refund minus 
a $50 application processing fee.

There may be local as well as state requirements and fees. The local ABC administrator's approval of an application 
must be sent to the state ABC administrator before your license can be processed in Frankfort. Visit http://abc.ky.gov/ 
to find the local ABC administrator in your area. 

d. Individuals, owners, partners, officers, directors, and interested parties cannot get a license if convicted of any felony 
during the past five years or any alcohol or controlled substance related misdemeanor during the past two years.

TRANSITIONAL LICENSE APPLICATIONS

If applying for Transitional license(s) the only requirements at the time of initial application will be submission of a 
complete Basic Application (local approval is not required for a Transitional license), full licensing fees, and a copy of 
the advertisement and affidavit.

Be advised, you must submit in writing that you understand your permanent license will not be considered for 
issuance if there is any tax debt found to be owed by the seller to the Kentucky Department of Revenue or any 
debt owed to a Kentucky liquor wholesaler.

If your transitional license(s) is approved, the remaining full application requirements, along with local approval, must 
be submitted before a final decision may be made on the approval of your permanent license(s). Approval of a 
transitional license does not guarantee approval of your permanent licenses.  Transitional licenses are 
effective up to 60 days, with one 30 day extension allowed, if needed.  

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

LOCAL APPROVAL PROCESS 

(Local approval is not required for Special Non Beverage Alcohol, Entertainment Destination Center, Qualified Historic 
Site, Distilled Spirits and Wine Storage, Malt Beverage Storage, Winery, Small Farm Winery, Small Farm Winery off 
Premises, and Small Farm Winery Wholesaler license applications.)
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HOW TO APPLY

STEP 6 Call the Kentucky Revenue Cabinet at (502) 564-3306 to get the Kentucky sales tax numbers for your business as 
requested in Section B.  Your application may be submitted without these tax numbers but the final license will not be 
issued until tax numbers have been provided.

STEP 7 Please read and complete the entire application. All questions must be answered.   Section C must be completed 
entirely; omitting any information requested in Section C will result in your application being rejected.  In Section C list 
all owners of the business, whether a privately-owned Sole Proprietor, Partnership, Corporation, Limited Liability 
Partnership or Limited Liability Company (LLC). Name the trustee if the company is owned in whole or part by a trust. 
Give the names and ownership percentages of the three highest officers of any entity that owns the Corporation or LLC 
in whole or part; or if a non-profit organization.

STEP 8

Pay your application fee(s) by attaching a completed REMITTANCE FORM, a certified check, cashier’s check, or 
money order payable to: KENTUCKY STATE TREASURER. WE DO NOT ACCEPT CASH. 

STEP 9

Licensing Fees are pro-rated on a half year basis.  To accurately determine payment amount find the county expiration date 
(Renewal schedule is included in the application packet) and submit either a full or half year payment as applicable. 

STEP 1 Advertise your intention to apply for an ABC license(s) one time in the newspaper of record for the county your 
business is located in.  An officer of the newspaper must complete an affidavit of publication.  Attach the completed 
affidavit of publication form and the newspaper clipping to your application.  An example of how your advertisement 
must read is part of the application packet. 
  
No license may be considered for approval until the 30 day protest period from the day your advertisement 
was published has passed.  
  
Please do not submit an advertisement that is over 90 days old. 
  
(Advertising is not required if applying for a, Special Non Beverage Alcohol, Malt Beverage Storage, Distilled Spirits/
Wine Storage, or Bottling House Storage license.)

STEP 2 Applicants must attach copies of statewide police criminal background checks, from all states where they resided 
during the past five (5) years. For Kentucky dial (502) 573-1682 or go to http://www.courts.ky.gov. Attach background 
checks for all primary officers of a privately owned Corporation or LLC and for any person who owns more than 10%. 
Attach background checks for the three highest officers of a publicly traded Corporation or non-profit organization, the 
Trustee if the private Corporation is owned in whole or part by a Trust, and the three highest officers of any entity that 
owns the Corporation or LLC in whole or part.

STEP 3 Attach a copy of the articles of incorporation, partnership papers, or organizational papers, if you are applying as a 
Corporation, Limited Partnership, or LLC.  

STEP 4 Attach a copy of the deed, lease, or permit for the real estate premises where you plan to sell alcohol. 

Kentucky criminal background checks may be up to six months old when submitted.

Out of State criminal background checks may be up to twelve months old when submitted.

STEP 5 Verify all information in Section A is correct.  The premises address must match the address listed on the required 
lease, deed, or permit.   Contact information that is required in Section A must be current.  Email, phone numbers, and 
special mailing addresses are important for the Department to be able to contact you.  Not being able to contact the 
applicant or a contact person will result in the application being rejected.  If your license is approved, it is very 
important to keep all of your contact information up-to-date with this Department. 

Answer all questions in Section D. 

Section E contains the license types to select from, specific business types, and additional attachments that are 
required for submission.  

•

•

If the applicant is buying an existing business or a current quota ABC license, Seller Verification must be completed 
and signed. Application Affidavit must be signed by an individual listed in Section C (please print the name of the 
signee).

YOUR APPLICATION PACKET WILL BE REJECTED IF NOT COMPLETE.
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The Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control will assign an Investigator after a complete application is received.  The 
Investigator will contact you at the numbers provided on the application to schedule a site inspection at which you or your legally 
authorized representative will be interviewed.  Give the Investigator a professional floor plan or blueprint depicting the interior layout of 
the premises to be licensed.  Final consideration of your application will take place only after the Investigator’s inspection report is filed. 
A second or final inspection is required if construction or remodeling of the real estate premises to be licensed was incomplete at the 
time of the first inspection.

SITE INSPECTIONS
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DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY 

1003 Twilight Trail 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8400 

502-564-4850 phone
502-564-1442 fax
http://abc.ky.gov

Revised September 2016
ABC Basic Application

Applications will be returned if all questions are not answered completely.  
BASIC APPLICATION FOR ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSE 

Site ID #

Val.

Val.

LEAVE BLANK -  FOR ABC USE ONLY

License #

Malt Beverage Administrator’s Approval:

Distilled Spirits Administrator’s Approval:

$

Date:

Date:

License # $

License # $ License # $

Review Date:Reviewing Licensing Administrative Specialist: Input Date:

License # $

License # $

SECTION A SECTION B

Applicant’s business/company name:

DBA (Doing Business As):

Address of premises to be licensed:

City:

County:

State:   Zip code:

Mailing address (if different from above):

Contact phone:

Fax: Premises phone: Fee enclosed:$

Contact person:

E-mail address:

(applicant's name, if sole proprietor)  
Tax numbers must be issued in the 
applicant’s name.

Ky. Sales & Use Tax #

Ky. Withholding Tax #

Ky. Corporate Tax #

Federal EIN #

SECTION C

NAME AND HOME ADDRESS

ALL PHONE NUMBERS 
H= HOME 
W= WORK 

F= FAX 
C= CELL

SOCIAL 
SECURITY 
NUMBER TITLE

U
S

A
  

C
IT

IZ
E

N
S

H
IP

DATE OF 
 BIRTH

LIST STATE(S) WHERE 
PERSON RESIDED IN 

PAST 5 YRS

% OF 
OWNERSHIP

H

W

F
C

YES

NO

%

H

W

F
C

YES

NO

%

H

W

F
C

YES

NO

%

Complete the following for the business proprietor, partner(s), and all persons interested in the business to be licensed. List all owners, officers, directors,
partners, managing members, members, and shareholders. If privately held, show 100% of the ownership. If this is a publicly-traded company or a non-profit 
company, list the top three officers and any natural person who owns ten (10%) percent or more interest. Make an attachment if additional space is needed. 
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SECTION D

2.   Is the applicant the owner of the real estate where these premises are to be licensed?
If yes, attach a deed.  If no, attach a signed copy of the lease, permit, management agreement, or land contract.

ABC will not issue any license(s) unless the lease extends through the full period of the license expiration 
date.

If the applicant is not the owner of the real estate premises:

Name the owner of the real estate:

Give the address of the owner of the real estate :

Give a contact number for the owner of the real estate:

Expiration date of the lease, permit, management agreement, or land contract  (MM/DD/YY):

YES NO

1.   Is this a publicly-traded company? 
If yes, attach the criminal background checks for the top three officers and any person who owns ten  
percent (10%) or greater interest.

If no, attach the criminal background checks for all persons listed in Section C.

YES NO

ABC will not issue any license(s) unless the applicant has an active and valid deed, lease, permit, management  
agreement, or land contract for the licensed premises.

Identify the state in which the applicant is incorporated or organized: 

YES NO

4. Is the entire license fee paid by the applicant and not by any other person? YES NO

6. Has the applicant or any person listed in Section C ever been licensed to sell alcoholic beverages? YES NO

Alcohol Producer:

Distributor/Wholesaler:

7.  Does the applicant or any person named in Section C of this application have a substantial interest in another  
     alcohol license type (alcohol producer, distributor/wholesaler, or retailer)?  (804 KAR 4:015)

NOYES

NOYES

NOYES9.  Has the applicant or any person named in Section C been convicted of a misdemeanor directly or indirectly 
     related to alcohol or a controlled substance within the past two (2) years?  (KRS 243.100(1)(b) and (c)) 
  
     If yes, attach a statement identifying the person(s) convicted and date(s) and type(s) of conviction(s).

5. List all (i.e. crowd sourcing, gift, and/or loan) sources of the funds for the premises, business, and license fees:

a. If funding was obtained with a loan, list the name of the lender(s) or individuals(s):

b. List the name(s) of the financial institution(s) where the licensee will bank:

3.  Is the applicant a corporation, limited partnership, or limited liability company (LLC)?

If yes:

•
• Attach a copy of the applicant’s Articles of Incorporation or Articles of Organization.

If incorporated or organized outside of Kentucky, attach a Certificate of Authority to do business in Kentucky.•
List the name and address of the individual who is designated as the process agent to receive legal notifications: •

If yes, check the license type(s) and give the name of the state(s):

Retailer:

8.  Has the applicant or any person named in Section C been convicted of any felony, been released from 
     felony custody or felony incarceration, been on felony parole, or had a termination of felony probation within the 
     past five (5) years? (KRS 243.100(1)(a)) 
 
     If yes, attach a statement identifying the person(s) convicted and date(s) and type(s) of conviction(s).
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SECTION D (Continued)

10. Has there ever been a suspension, denial, or revocation of any alcoholic beverage license held by 
      the applicant or by any person named in Section C of this application?  If yes, attach a statement giving a full 
      explanation, including dates of suspension, denial, or revocation.

12.  Will gasoline or lubricating oil be sold or work be done on motor vehicles at the premises to be licensed?

If yes, will an inventory of not less than $5,000 in food, groceries, and related products be maintained?

13. Will tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products be sold at the premises to be licensed? (KRS 438.305)

NOYES

NOYES

NOYES

Tobacco products Alternative nicotine products Vapor products
If yes, check all products that will be sold: 

NOYES

NOYESb. Is the applicant applying for a new Quota Retail Package license or a Quota Retail Drink license?

c. Is the applicant acquiring an interest in the existing business?

a. Are the rights of an existing Quota Retail Package license or a Quota Retail Drink license being transferred? NOYES

NOYES
If yes, give the Kentucky License number(s)

11. Are the premises currently licensed?

NOYES

SECTION E
    14. Check the license type(s) for which the applicant is applying. For each license type selected, the applicant affirms that the requirements for that license  
          type(s) are met.

LICENSE TYPES Licensing Fee 
Full Year

Licensing Fee 
Half Year

               RETAIL - QUOTA

Quota Retail Package License (KRS 243.230, KRS 
243.240, 804 KAR 9:040) 
A quota license must be available prior to applying.

$570 $285

Quota Retail Drink License (KRS 243.230, 804 KAR 9:050)  
A quota license must be available prior to applying. 

$620 $310

RETAIL-NON QUOTA

NQ Retail Malt Beverage Package License (KRS 243.280) $210 
If applying for both an NQ Retail Malt 
Beverage Package License and an NQ-4 
Retail Malt Beverage Drink License, the total 
license fee for a full year for both is $260: 
$210 for a primary NQ Malt Beverage 
License and $50 discounted fee to add the 
secondary NQ Malt Beverage License.  

$105

NQ-4 Retail Malt Beverage Drink License (KRS 243.088) $210 
If applying for both an NQ Retail Malt 
Beverage Package License and an NQ-4 
Retail Malt Beverage Drink License, the total 
license fee for a full year for both is $260: 
$210 for a primary NQ Malt Beverage 
License and $50 discounted fee to add the 
secondary NQ Malt Beverage License.  

$105

NQ-1 Retail Drink License (KRS 243.082) 
Specify the business type:  

Convention Center  - Premises capacity of 1,000 persons 
Horse Track  - Premises located at a track licensed by 
the Kentucky Racing Commission (KRS 243.265). If 
qualifying as a horse racetrack, attach a copy of the 
racing license issued by the Kentucky Racing 
Commission.

Air or Rail System  - Commercial airline system or 
railroad company sells alcohol to passengers on 
scheduled or chartered trips.  If qualifying as an air or rail 
system, attach a copy of the listing of the air or rail 
terminals used and the locations of the storage areas.

Automobile Race Track  - Premises seating capacity of 
30,000 persons. 

$4,120 $2,060
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SECTION E (Continued)

LICENSE TYPES Licensing Fee 
Full Year

Licensing Fee 
Half Year

NQ-1 Retail Drink License (cont.)

State Park  - 9-hole or 18-hole golf course, or full-
service lodge and dining room with or without a 9- or 
18-hole golf course.

$4,120 $2,060

NQ-2 Retail Drink License (KRS 243.084) 
Specify the business type:  

Restaurant  - Minimum 50% of gross annual income from 
food sales and minimum seating capacity of 50 persons 
at tables. 

Motel/Hotel  - Minimum 50 sleeping rooms, 25,000 
square feet of parking, and maintain a restaurant with 
50% food sales and minimum seating capacity of 50 
people at tables.

Airport  - Premises located in a commercial airport 
through which more than 500,000 passengers arrive or 
depart annually. 

Riverboat  - Capacity to carry more than 100 passengers, 
and licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard. If qualifying as a 
Riverboat, attach a copy of the applicant’s license issued 
by the United States Coast Guard authorizing the 
applicant’s Riverboat to carry 100 or more passengers.

$830 $415

NQ-3 Retail Drink License (KRS 243.086)  
Specify the business type:  

Private Club  - Nonprofit charitable, civic, social, fraternal 
organization, or political club which has maintained a 
room from which the general public has been excluded 
for at least one (1) year. If qualifying as a private club, 
attach documentary evidence of the applicant’s non-profit 
status.

Dining Car  - Railroad or Pullman car company that sells 
alcohol by package or drink on a train.

Bed and breakfast – Must be located in wet territory and 
may only sell to registered overnight guests.

Distillery – Must be located in wet territory or distillery 
moist territory and all employees who will be involved in 
sales/service must be STAR trained within thirty (30) days 
of beginning employment.

$310 $155

Limited Restaurant License LR100 or LR50 (KRS 241.010, 
KRS 242.1244, KRS 243.034) 

LR100  - Minimum 70% food sales and minimum 
seating capacity of 100 persons at tables. 

LR50  -Minimum 70% food sales and minimum seating 
capacity of 50 persons at tables. 

$780 $390

Limited Golf Course License (KRS 243.038, KRS 243.039)  
9-hole or 18-hole USGA regulation golf course.

$720 $360

Qualified Historic Site License (KRS 241.010, KRS 243.042) $1,030 $515

Caterer's License (KRS 243.033, 804 KAR 4:310) Premises 
contains commissary (kitchen) and applicant holds food 
service permit.  Attach a copy of the applicant’s Food Service 
Permit issued by the local health department.

$830 $415
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SECTION E (Continued)

LICENSE TYPES Licensing Fee 
Full Year

Licensing Fee 
Half Year

Transitional Malt Beverage License (KRS 243.045) 
Are you purchasing the existing business?

Yes

No

If any outstanding tax liabilities or wholesaler debts are 
owed on the business, no permanent alcohol license shall 
be issued by the Department until any such debts are paid.

•

$60 N/A

Yes

No

Transitional Distilled Spirits and Wine License (KRS 
243.045)   
Are you purchasing the existing business?

If any outstanding tax liabilities or wholesaler debts are 
owed on the business, no permanent alcohol license shall 
be issued by the Department until any such debts are paid.

•

$60 N/A

 PRODUCER/SUPPLIER  

(KRS 243.120, KRS 243.130, 804 KAR 4:050, 804 KAR 4:240) 

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

1 year 2 year

Distiller's License - Class A [more than 50,000 gallons 
produced annually]

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$3,090

$6,180

$1,545

$4,635

(KRS 243.120, KRS 243.130, 804 KAR 4:050, 804 KAR 4:240) 

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

1 year 2 year

Distiller's License - Class B [50,000 gallons or less 
produced annually]

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit. 
Attach the most recent Federal Monthly Report of 
Production Operations form if available.

$1,000

$2,000

$500

$1,500

Rectifier's License  - Class A [more than 50,000 gallons 
rectified annually] 
(KRS 243.120, KRS 243.130, 804 KAR 4:050, 804 KAR 4:240)

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

2 year1 year

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$2,580

$5,160

$1,290

$3,870

Rectifier's License  - Class B [50,000 gallons or less 
rectified annually] 
(KRS 243.120, KRS 243.130, 804 KAR 4:050, 804 KAR 4:240)

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

2 year1 year

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit. 
Attach the most recent Federal Monthly Report of 
Processing Operations form if available.

$825

1,650

$412

$1,545

Winery License (KRS 243.120, KRS, 243.130, 
 804 KAR 4:240) 

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.
2 year1 year

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

$1,030

$2,060

$515

$1,545
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SECTION E (Continued)

LICENSE TYPES Licensing Fee 
Full Year

Licensing Fee 
Half Year

Small Farm Winery License [not to exceed 100,000 gallons 
produced annually] (KRS 243.155) 

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

1 year 2 year

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit. 
If already licensed in another state, attach a copy of the 
license from applicable state(s). 
Attach the most recent Federal Report of Wine Premises 
Operation form if available.

$110

$220

$55

$165

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

1 year 2 year

Brewer's License (KRS 243.150, KRS 244.606) 

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$2,580

$5,160

$1,290

$3,870

Microbrewery License [not to exceed 50,000 barrels 
produced annually] (KRS 243.157, KRS 244.606) 

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit. 
Attach the most recent Federal Brewer's Report of 
Operations form if available. 

2 year1 year

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

$520

$1,040

$260

$780

DISTRIBUTION/WHOLESALE   

Wholesaler's License (KRS 243.160, KRS 243.170) 
Check the appropriate box for license term: 

1 year 2 year

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$2,060

$4,120

$1,030

$3,090

Check the appropriate box for license term: 

1 year 2 year

Distributor's License (KRS 243.180, KRS 244.606)

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$520

1,040

$260

$780

Small Farm Winery Wholesaler's License (KRS 243.154, 
804 KAR 4:240) 
Check the appropriate box for license term: 

1 year 2 year

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$110

$220

$55

$165

STORAGE   

Malt Beverage Storage License (KRS 243.353) 
Specify the required business type:

Distributor 
Brewer
Retailer

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$260 $130

Distilled Spirits/Wine Storage License (KRS 243.355) 

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$620 $310

Bottle House/Bottling House Storage License
(KRS 243.035, 804 KAR 4:040) 

Attach a copy of the Federal Basic Permit.

$1,030 $515
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SECTION E (Continued)

LICENSE TYPES Licensing Fee 
Full Year

Licensing Fee 
Half Year

SUPPLEMENTAL LICENSES

Supplemental Bar License Fees are required for the first five.
(KRS 243.037, KRS 241.010) 

Select supplemental license type that applies to primary license type: 

Quota Liquor Drink Supplemental Bar $620 $310

NQ-2 Supplemental Bar $830 $415

Limited Restaurant Supplemental Bar $780 $390

Limited Golf Course Supplemental Bar $720 $360

NQ-3 Private Club or Distillery Supplemental Bar $310 $155

For how many Supplemental Licenses is the applicant applying?

Sampling License (KRS 244.050) 
Select the required primary license type:

Distillery
Quota Retail Package
Quota Retail Drink
NQ-2 Retail Drink

$110 $55

Special Sunday Retail Drink License 
Available only if authorized by local ordinance or election. 
(KRS 244.290) 

$520 $260

Extended Hours Supplemental License 

Available only to holders of NQ-1 Retail Drink Licenses, 
Licensee located within a commercial airport, and Qualified 
Historic Site Licenses (KRS 243.050, 804 KAR 4:230) 

$2,060 $1,030

Small Farm Winery Off-Premises License 
(KRS 243.155) 

Kentucky ABC license number:

$30 $15

Hotel In-Room License (KRS 243.055) $210 $105

SPECIALTY LICENSES   

Entertainment Destination Center License  
(804 KAR 4:370) 

$7,730 $3,865

Brew on Premises License (804 KAR 4:340) 
 

$520 $260

Special Nonbeverage Alcohol License (KRS 243.320)  $60 $30

Authorized Public Consumption License (KRS 243.089)

Attach copy of the local permit.
Attach proof of general liability insurance.

$250 $125

SECTION F

15.   List all types of licenses applied for in Section E:

16.  Describe in detail the type of business and how alcoholic beverages will be sold: 
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If applicable, how will Malt Beverages (beer) be sold at the business? 

If applicable, how will Wine and Distilled Spirits be sold at the business? 

Both  Drink and Package.Package OnlyDrink Only

Both  Drink and Package.Package OnlyDrink Only

SELLER VERIFICATION 
(applicable only if the applicant is buying an existing business or quota license)

If the applicant is buying an existing business or a current quota ABC license, then the seller must complete and sign this section.

, hereby swear and affirm that I am the owner orI (we),
(print full name)

that holds the following state license(s), the numbers of which are given here:

. The business is located at

authorized officer of 

I (we) hereby surrender said license(s) and in doing so relinquish all rights and claims thereto and all privileges hereunder. I understand that if a license 

transfer is not approved, said license surrender shall be null and void and the license shall remain in the seller's name.

Signature of Seller(s): Title: Date:
(If a partnership, all partners must sign. If a corporation, only one officer must sign.)

 .

My contact information is

(name of business)

(business address)

(street address) (city) (county) (state) (zip)

(phone number) (fax number) (email address)

, , ,

 LOCAL ABC ADMINISTRATOR APPROVAL  
 (Applicants must complete this section if an equivalent local license is required)

Pursuant to KRS 243.370, if a city or county alcohol license is required, then the local ABC Administrator must approve this application before it can be submitted 
to the state ABC.  Take or mail this application and all attachments to the local ABC Administrator.  Obtain the local ABC Administrator’s signature and approval 
before filing this application with the state ABC office.

LOCAL ABC ADMINISTRATOR'S SIGNATURE OF APPROVAL 

I certify under oath that the applicant(s) has been approved for the equivalent local license type(s) applied herein for the identified premises, and that 
the applicant satisfies all local ordinances. 

APPLICANT NAME: ADDRESS: 

SIGNATURE OF APPROVAL OF LOCAL ABC ADMINISTRATOR : 

City of Administrator        OR     County of Administrator 

DATE:

The premises to be licensed is located in the following wet or moist PRECINCT: 

PRINTED NAME OF LOCAL ABC ADMINISTRATOR : 

APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT 
Affidavit of buyer or new applicant for the ABC license(s) 

, do hereby swear or affirm under penalty of perjury  that all
statements contained in this application and any its attachments are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief. I hereby swear and 
affirm that I shall not engage in any activity involving alcoholic beverages at the premises described herein until I have been issued the appropriate license(s) 
by the Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control. I hereby swear and affirm that if the license(s) is issued, I shall abide by all state and local statutes, 
regulations, and ordinances relating to the manufacture, sale, use, and trafficking in alcoholic beverages. I hereby swear and affirm that no persons listed in 
Section (C) of this application are in default of a repayment obligation under any financial program administered by Kentucky Higher Education Assistance 
Authority (KHEAA) such as a student loan repayment.

Signature of Buyer or New Applicant: Title: Date:

I, (print your name here)
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CHECK LIST
1. Have you included a completed REMITTANCE FORM or a certified check, cashier’s check, business check, or money 

order for license(s) fees made payable to the "Kentucky State Treasurer"? 

2.

3.

Have you answered each question fully and checked the type(s) of license(s) you are applying for? 

NOYES

Have you signed your application(s) ?

 No cash will be accepted. 

NOYES

NOYES

NOYES

NOYES

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

If applicable, has the seller signed the application?

Have you attached a certified copy of your newspaper advertisement for this license?

Have you attached a signed/valid copy of your deed or lease? 

Have you attached a copy of your criminal background check from the state(s) where you have resided for the past five years?

Have you secured the signature of approval from your local ABC Administrator on this application (if applicable)?

Visit http://abc.ky.gov for a list of Local ABC Administrators in your area.

Have you reviewed your application to assure there are no errors, missing information and/or responses? 

Have all additional required documents been attached?

NOYES

NOYES

NOYES

NOYES

NOYES



COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY 
DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

1003 Twilight Trail 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8400 

502-564-4850 phone 
502-564-1442 fax 
http://abc.ky.gov

ABC Remittance Form 
Revised Feb 2016

REMITTANCE FORM 

Name

Telephone Number

Address

Amount of payment $

 PAYMENT REASON & AUTHORIZATION 

Please apply this payment to the following licensee 

 SITE ID # License Number(s) 

*****There will be a 2.75% Convenience Fee added to the total for Credit Card payments  
and $0.35 for Electronic Fund Transfer/Automated Clearing House (EFT/ACH) payments.***** 

Please fill out the information for the chosen payment type and sign at the bottom of the page. 

Reason for payment 

Card Number Expiration Date (Month/Year)

Master CardCard Type:

 CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 

Visa Discover

Print Name (as it appears on the account) 

CVV/Credit Card Security Code (3 digit number on the back of the card) 

 Print Name (as it appears on the account) 

 Routing Number  Account Number 

 EFT/ACH PAYMENT 

Please provide your name, address and telephone number in case we need to contact you regarding this payment: 

By signing and dating this form, I authorize my credit card to be charged or bank account to be debited for the stated 
payment amount plus fees as described above. I also agree that I am responsible for any fees if payment is declined.

Name  Date 



SAMPLE PUBLIC NOTICE 
WHEN APPLYING FOR AN ABC LICENSE 

KRS 243.360 requires a person to advertise by publication under KRS 424.130(1)(b) his or her intention 
to apply for a license before filing an alcohol license application. This form will assist you with this 
requirement. KRS 424.120 identifies which newspapers qualify. 

Sample Advertisement 
Revised July 2016

YOUR ADVERTISEMENT SHOULD READ AS FOLLOWS: 
(Fill in the blanks) 

,Mailing address 
(List the Name of each individual owner(s) or the name of the Corporation, Ltd, or L.L.C. the license will be issued under) 

. Hereby declares intention(s)
(Include Street, City, State and Zip) 

to apply for a 

no later than
(Enter the date you intend to make application to the State ABC) 

located at 
(List the EXACT street address and city where the ABC license is to be issued)        (Zip) 

doing business as
(List the name of your business (D.B.A.)) 

The (owner(s); Principal Officers and Directors; Limited Partners; or Members)  are as follows: 

 license(s) 

, The business to be licensed will be 

 Kentucky

  of 
Title or position   Name   Home address, city, state and zip code 

Title or position   Name   Home address, city, state and zip code 

Title or position   Name   Home address, city, state and zip code 

Title or position   Name   Home address, city, state and zip code 

Title or position   Name   Home address, city, state and zip code 

Any person, association, corporation, or body politic may protest the granting of the license(s) by writing the Dept. 

of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 1003 Twilight Trail, Frankfort, Ky. 40601-8400, within 30 days (KRS 243.430) of the date of 

this legal publication. (End of advertisement) 

Forward a clipping of this advertisement along with the Affidavit of Publication to: 

DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
1003 Twilight Trail 

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8400 
(502) 564-4850 phone 

(502) 564-1442) fax 
http://www.abc.ky.gov

, 

  of , 

  of , 

  of , 

  of , 

(List all license types and business types for which you are applying. (Example) Quota Retail Drink, Quota Retail Package, NQ1 – 
Retail Drink License Convention Center, NQ1-Retail Drink License Horse Race Track, Alcoholic Beverage NQ2-Restaurant Liquor, 
Wine and Malt Beverages (beer) by the Drink, NQ-Malt Beverage Package, Caterer's, Alcoholic Beverage NQ3-Private Club, Alcoholic 
Beverage Limited Restaurant by the Drink, Alcoholic Beverage Limited Golf course by the Drink, and so on…) AND all business types. 
(Be sure to refer to your ABC application and the attached license type list for correct names for all license types which you are making 
application.) 

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY



AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

Attesting Publication of Intention to Engage in an
 Alcoholic Beverage Business

Sample Affidavit of Publication
Revised July 2016

GLUE OR 
TAPE 

CLIPPING 
HERE 

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY 
DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

1003 Twilight Trail 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8400 

502-564-4850 phone 
502-564-1442 fax 
http://abc.ky.gov

An Affidavit of Publication is to be executed by an officer of the newspaper in which the applicant advertised, 
one time before the date of application for an alcoholic beverage license, his/her intention to engage in the business 
authorized by the license(s) applied for. A clipping of the advertisement must be attached to this Affidavit of Publication. 

of 
(Name of Officer at Newspaper)  (City) (State) 

Being first duly sworn, says that he / she is
(Title of Position at Paper) 

of the
(Name of Newspaper) 

State of

, Kentucky, and that the attached advertisement is a true copy and has been 

Published in said newspaper on the following date(s): 

Signature of Officer 

Subscribed and sworn to before me, a Notary Public within and for the State and County aforesaid, by 

 to me personally known, this  

My Commission expires the

County of  Notary Public 

A PROPERLY EXECUTED  AFFIDAVIT MUST BE ATTACHED TO THE ABC APPLICATION FOR 
LICENSING. 

 a newspaper printed and published in the 

, and having a general circulation in the County of County of

day of (year)

(year)day of



Revised February 2016

Alabama 1-866-740-4762 
or 334-517-2470

http://background.alabama.gov/

Alaska 907-269-5767 or 
907-269-5640

http://www.dps.state.ak.us/statewide/background/

Arizona 602-223-2222 http://www.azdps.gov/Services/Records/Criminal_History_Records/

Arkansas 501-618-8500 https://www.ark.org/criminal/index.php

California* Please contact 
our office for 
information.

http://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/security

Colorado 303-239-4208 https://www.cbirecordscheck.com/

Connecticut 860-685-8480 http://www.ct.gov/despp/lib/despp/reports_and_records/dps-846-c.pdf

Delaware* Please contact 
our office for 
information.

http://dsp.delaware.gov/state_bureau_of_identification.shtml

Florida 850-410-8109 https://web.fdle.state.fl.us/search/app/default

Georgia 404-244-2639 http://gbi.georgia.gov/obtaining-criminal-history-record-information

Hawaii 808-587-3100 https://ecrim.ehawaii.gov/ahewa/

Idaho 208-884-7130 https://www.isp.idaho.gov/BCI/index.html

Illinois 815-740-5160 http://www.isp.state.il.us/crimhistory/chri.cfm

Indiana 317-233-5424 http://www.in.gov/ai/appfiles/isp-lch/

Iowa 515-725-6066 http://www.dps.state.ia.us/DCI/supportoperations/crimhistory/ 
obtain_records.shtml

Kansas 785-296-2454, 
785-296-5059, 
or 
800-452-6727

http://www.kansas.gov/kbi/criminalhistory/

Kentucky 800-928-6381 or 
502-573-1682

http://courts.ky.gov/aoc/criminalrecordreports/Pages/default.aspx

Louisiana 225-925-6096 or 
225-925-6095

https://wwwcfprd.doa.louisiana.gov/LaServices/PublicPages/ 
ServiceDetail.cfm?service_id=3386

Maine 207-624-7240 https://www5.informe.org/online/pcr/

Maryland 410-764-4501 or 
888-795-0011

http://www.dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/bgchecks.shtml

Massachusetts 617-660-4600 http://www.mass.gov/eopss/agencies/dcjis/

Michigan 517-241-0606 http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,4643,7-123-1878_8311---,00.html

Minnesota 651-793-2400 https://cch.state.mn.us/

Mississippi* Please contact 
our office for 
information.

http://www.msdh.state.ms.us/msdhsite/index.cfm/30,0,206,html

Missouri 573-526-6312 https://www.machs.mshp.dps.mo.gov/MACHSFP/home.html

To obtain your criminal history check, call a phone number or visit a website listed below:
DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

PUBLIC PROTECTION CABINET



Montana 406-444-3625 https://dojmt.gov/enforcement/background-checks/

Nebraska 402-479-4971 https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-limited-criminal/

Nevada 775-684-6262 http://gsd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/Home/Features/ 
DPS_006_Form112015.pdf

New Hampshire 603-223-3867 http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/ssb/crimrecords/index.html

New Jersey 609-882-2000 
ext 2918

http://www.njsp.org/criminal-history-records/index.shtml

New Mexico 505-827-9181 http://www.dps.state.nm.us/index.php/criminal-history-records/

New York 212-428-2943 http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/ojis/recordreview.htm

North Carolina 919-890-1000 http://www.nccourts.org/Citizens/GoToCourt/Default.asp?topic=1

North Dakota 701-328-5500 https://www.ag.nd.gov/BCI/CHR/

Ohio 877-224-0043 http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Business/ 
Services-for-Business/WebCheck

Oklahoma 405-848-6724 https://www.ok.gov/osbi/Criminal_History/

Oregon 503-378-5470 or 
888-272-5545

http://www.oregon.gov/dhs/business-services/chc/Pages/index.aspx

Pennsylvania 888-783-7972 https://epatch.state.pa.us/Home.jsp

Rhode Island 401-274-4400 http://www.riag.state.ri.us/BCI/index.php

South Carolina 803-737-9000 http://www.sled.state.sc.us/CISystem/Images/Catch/ 
CriminalRecordsCheckForm.pdf

South Dakota 605-773-3331 http://dci.sd.gov/Operations/Identification/ 
BackgroundCheckRequirements/StateOnlyBackgroundCheck.aspx

Tennessee 615-744-4000 https://www.tn.gov/tbi/article/background-checks

Texas 855-481-7070 https://records.txdps.state.tx.us/DpsWebsite/CriminalHistory/

Utah 801-965-4445 http://bci.utah.gov/criminal-records/

Vermont 802-241-5157 http://vcic.vermont.gov/ch-information/record-checks

Virginia 804-674-2131 http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_Criminal_Record_Check.shtm

Washington 360-534-2000 
option 2

http://www.wsp.wa.gov/crime/chrequests.htm

West Virginia 304-746-2235 or 
304-746-2498

http://www.wvsp.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Wisconsin 608-266-7314 https://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/ 
background-check-criminal-history-information

Wyoming 307-777-7181 http://wyomingdci.wyo.gov/ 
dci-criminal-justice-information-systems-section/criminal-records-section



may result in the license becoming inactive.  
licensee’s annual expiration date. Failure to renew  by the indicated expiration date 
Please  note:  Renewal  Notices  should  be  mailed  to  you  six  (6)  weeks  prior  to  the 
From the chart below, find the county where the premises are located. 
Licenses expire on the last day of the month. 

Utilize  the  chart  below  to  assist  the  licensee  in  determining  what  month  an  active 

Please be advised renewal dates & expiration dates have been changed effective June 25, 2013 
REVISED RENEWAL SCHEDULE & LICENSE EXPIRATION DATES 

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY 
DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

1003 Twilight Trail 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8400 

502-564-4850 phone 
502-564-1442 fax 
http://abc.ky.gov

license will expire and in what month the applicant must renew the license.   
2. 
3.
4.

1.

  
County 
Code

  
Name of County

  
License 

Expiration 
Month

1. Adair April

2. Allen April

3. Anderson June

4. Ballard January

5. Barren April

6. Bath April

7. Bell April

8. Boone November

9. Bourbon June

10. Boyd June

11. Boyle April

12. Bracken June

13. Breathitt April

14. Breckinridge January

15. Bullitt January

16. Butler January

17. Caldwell January

18. Calloway January

19. Campbell November

20. Carlisle January

21. Carroll June

22. Carter June

23. Casey April

24. Christian January

25. Clark April

26. Clay April

27. Clinton April

28. Crittenden January

Page 1 of 3



County 
Code Name of County

License 
Expiration 

Month
29. Cumberland January
30. Daviess January

31. Edmonson January

32. Elliott April
33. Estill April
34. Fayette November
35. Fleming April

36. Floyd April
37. Franklin June
38. Fulton January
39. Gallatin June
40. Garrard April
41. Grant June
42. Graves January
43. Grayson January
44. Green January
45. Greenup June
46. Hancock January
47. Hardin January
48. Harlan April
49. Harrison April

50. Hart January

51. Henderson January
52. Henry June
53. Hickman January

54. Hopkins April
55. Jackson April
56. Jefferson October
57. Jessamine April
58. Johnson April
59. Kenton November

60. Knott April
61. Knox April
62. Larue January
63. Laurel April
64. Lawrence April
65. Lee April
66. Leslie April
67. Letcher April
68. Lewis June
69. Lincoln April
70. Livingston January
71. Logan April
72. Lyon January
73. McCracken January
74. McCreary April
75. McLean January

76. Madison April
77. Magoffin April
78. Marion April

Page 2 of 3



Page 3 of 3

  
County 
Code

  
Name of County

  
License 

Expiration 
Month

79. Marshall January
80. Martin April

81. Mason June

82. Meade January
83. Menifee April
84. Mercer April
85. Metcalfe January

86. Monroe January
87. Montgomery April

88. Morgan April
89. Muhlenberg April
90. Nelson April
91. Nicholas June
92. Ohio January
93. Oldham June
94. Owen January
95. Owsley April
96. Pendleton June
97. Perry April

98. Pike June
99. Powell April

100. Pulaski April

101. Robertson June
102. Rockcastle April
103. Rowan June
104. Russell April
105. Scott June
106. Shelby June
107. Simpson April
108. Spencer January
109. Taylor April
110. Todd April
111. Trigg January
112. Trimble January
113. Union January
114. Warren April
115. Washington April
116. Wayne April
117. Webster January
118. Whitley April
119. Wolfe June
120. Woodford June



License Type(s) Fee Renewal Half Year Fee
1 Distiller’s License - Class A * $3,090 $3,090 $1,545

3 Rectifier's License * $2,580 $2,580 $1,290

5 Out-of-State Distilled Spirits/Wine Producer/Supplier’s License * $1,550 $1,550 $775
6 Limited Out-of-State Distilled Spirits/Wine Producer/Supplier’s License * $260 $260 $130
7 Micro Out-of-State Producer/Supplier’s Distilled Spirits/Wine License * $10 $10 $5
8 Winery License (Renamed Vintner's License ) * $1,030 $1,030 $515
9 Small Farm Winery License * $110 $110 $55

Small Farm Winery Off-Premises License $30 $30 $15
Small Farm Winery Wholesaler's License $110 $110 $55

12 Brewers' License* $2,580 $2,580 $1,290
13 Microbrewery License* $520 $520 $260
14 Out-of-State Malt Beverage Producer/Supplier’s License * $1,550 $1,550 $775
15 Limited Out-of-State Malt Beverage Producer/Supplier’s License * $260 $260 $130
16 Brew-on-Premises License $520 $520 $260
17 Wholesaler's License * $2,060 $2,060 $1,030
18 Special Agent's or Solicitor's License $30 $30 $15
19 Distributor's License * $520 $520 $260
20 Quota Retail Package License (Liquor/wine) $570 $570 $285
21 Quota Retail Drink License (Liquor/wine) $620 $620 $310
22 NQ-1 Retail Drink License (nonquota) $4,120 $4,120 $2,060
23 NQ-2 Retail Drink License (nonquota) $830 $830 $415
24 NQ-3 Retail Drink License (nonquota) $310 $310 $155
25 NQ-4 Retail Malt Beverage Drink License (nonquota) NEW Beer License $210 $210 $105

         Secondary NQ Malt Beverage "Retail Package" License ** $50 $50 $25
26 NQ-Retail Malt Beverage Package License (nonquota) NEW Beer License $210 $210 $105

         Secondary NQ-4 Malt Beverage "Retail Drink" License ** $50 $50 $25
27 Supplemental Bar License

NQ-2 Retail Drink License Supplemental Bar $830 $830 $415
Limited Restaurant Supplemental Bar $780 $780 $390
Limited Golf Course License Supplemental Bar $720 $720 $360
Quota Retail Drink License Supplemental Bar $620 $620 $310
NQ-3 Retail Drink License Supplemental Bar $310 $310 $155

28 Extended Hours Supplemental License $2,060 $2,060 $1,030
29 Transporter's License $210 $210 $105
30 Air Transporter License $520 $520 $260
31 Bottle House/Bottling House Storage License $1,030 $1,030 $515
32 Malt Beverage Storage License $260 $260 $130
33 Distilled Spirits/Wine Storage License $620 $620 $310
34 Special Temporary License $90 $90
35 Special Temporary Distilled Spirits and Wine Auction License $110 $110
36 Hotel In-Room License $210 $210 $105
37 Sampling License $110 $110 $55
38 Limited Restaurant License $780 $780 $390
39 Limited Golf Course License $720 $720 $360
40 Entertainment Destination Center License $7,730 $7,730 $3,865
41 Qualified Historic Site License $1,030 $1,030 $515
42 Transitional Distilled Spirits and Wine License $60 $60
43 Transitional Malt Beverage License $60 $60
44 Special Nonbeverage Alcohol License $60 $60 $30
45 Caterer's License $830 $830 $415
46 Special Sunday Retail Drink License $520 $520 $260

Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

* These license types have a one (1) or two (2) year licensing/renewal option available.

** The qualifying holder of either type of retail malt beverage (beer) licenses (either the NQ-4 Retail Malt Beverage Drink or the NQ-
Retail Malt Beverage Package license) may add the second license for a reduced licensing fee of $50.00 

2 Distiller’s License - Class B *

10
11

   $500$1,000$1,000

$412$825$825  Rectifier's License - Class B4 *

47 Authorized Public Consumption License $250 $250 $125
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